Elvis Perkins and band ready debut album

placeholder image

    Elvis Perkins certainly isn’t an unfamiliar sight. Since bursting onto the scene in 2007 with the release of his debut album, Ash Wednesday, the New York native has been pleasing audiences around the world and t.v. with his emotionally rich songwriter. But on March 10th, Perkins will make another debut of sorts, this time as frontman of his band, Elvis Perkins in Dearland, and their eponymous first studio album.

    Produced by Grammy Award-winning producer Chris Shaw, perhaps best known for his work with Bob Dylan and Ween, the 10-track effort was recorded in Upstate New York and seeks to convey the spirit of the band’s live performance. Per Perkins:

    “This album is faster and younger than Ash Wednesday.  Being in a studio with three other creatives instead of just one was a new thing for me.  It takes four times as long to decide everything… but in the end, this kind of interplay made for much good.”


    Perkins and Co. are currently offering an early taste of their debut effort in the form of three online streams, including an organ-heavy track, entitled “Shampoo”, via their website.

    The band will tour in extensively in support of the release. Dates are still forthcoming.

    Elvis Perkins in Dearland Tracklist:
    01. Shampoo
    02. Hey
    03. Hours Last Stand
    04. I Heard Your Voice in Dresden
    05. Send My Fond Regards to Lonelyville
    06. I’ll Be Arriving
    07. Chains, Chains, Chains
    08. Doomsday
    09. 123 Goodbye
    10. How’s Forever Been Baby

Latest Stories