Fatboy Slim now The BPA, celebrates with new album

We’ve heard the name The BPA for a while now, ever since that clever little David Byrne and Dizzee Rascal-featuring tune entitled “Toe Jam” and its accompanying NSFW video (see below) hit the blogosphere last fall. As we discovery shortly there after, the project, more properly known as The Brighton Port Authority, is in fact the new alias’ of electro genius Norman Cook. On February 3rd, the 45-year-old DJ will properly debut this project with the release of The BPA’s first full-length effort, I Think We’re Gonna Need A Bigger Boat.

If you remember, Cook, perhaps best known for his work as Fatboy Slim, decided to drop the alter ego last May in favor of a new project, entitled The Brighton Port Authority. As we know by now, work soon began on the aforementioned album over the summer, eventually resulting into a guest-heavy, dance-friendly 12-track effort. In addition to Byrne and Rascal’s appearance on “Toe Jam”, the album’s lead single, I Think We’re Gonna Need A Bigger Boat‘s also features the talents of Martha Wainwright, Emmy The Great, and Iggy Pop among others.

Ahead of the February 2nd physical release date, the album has been made available as a digital download exclusively via Amazon.com.

While there is no word on whether Cook plans to tour in support of the release, he will make one final live appearance as Fatboy Slim on January 22nd at The End in London.

“Toe Jam” (feat. David Byrne & Dizzee Rascal)

I Think We’re Gonna Need A Bigger Boat Tracklist:
01. He’s Frank (Slight Return) (feat. Iggy Pop)
02. Dirty Sheets (feat. Pete York)
03. Jumps The Fence (feat. Connan Mockasin)
04. Should I Stay Or Should I Blow (feat. Ashley Beedle)
05. Island (feat. Justin Robertson)
06. Local Town (feat. Jamie T)
07. Seattle (feat. Emmy The Great)
08. Spade (feat. Martha Wainwright)
09. Superman (feat. Simon Thornton)
10. Superlover (feat. Cagedbaby)
11. Toe Jam (feat. David Byrne and Dizzee Rascal)
12. So It Goes (feat. Olly Hite)


Follow Consequence