Metric readies its Fantasies

placeholder image

    It’s been nearly four years, yes four!, since Metric‘s Live It Out first graced the airwaves. Since then, Emily Haines and Co. have been busy playing sold out shows, while their material serves as the musical accompaniment behind McSteamy and dead bodies. For most, life couldn’t get much better than that, but for Metric, the Canadian outfit has yet to achieve its full fantasy.

    On April 14th, the band will look to do just that with the release of their fourth full-length studio album. Produced by Gavin Brown, the aptly titled Fantasies is described as a record that dictated its own process. As guitarist Jimmy Shaw notes, “Whatever that process was going to be, it was going to be, we were relaxed about it. The whole time I could hear the sound I wanted in my head -really big and really dreamy.”

    The end result is a 10-track endeavor that conveys a mix of “psychedelia, disco, electronica, punk-rock and bubblegum pop,” or as Shaw proclaims, his “dream state” vision. However, don’t be wardd by this electic style; in an interview with Spin, Haines promises that Fantasies will maintain a sense of simplicity.


    Fans will be able to pre-order the album beginning beginning March 2nd via in what is being described as one of several possible product configurations. As an added bonus, those who take part in the pre-order fun will instantly receive a copy of the album’s first single, “Help I’m Alive” as a digitial download.

    In support of the release, Metric will embark on a U.S. headlining tour beginning in June. Specific dates are still forthcoming…

    Fantasies Tracklist:
    1. Help I’m Alive
    2. Sick Muse
    3. Satellite Mind
    4. Twilight Galaxy
    5. Gold Guns Girls
    6. Gimme Sympathy
    7. Collect Call
    8. Front Row
    9. Blindness
    10. Stadium Love

Latest Stories