Black Moth Super Rainbow is hungry…

placeholder image

    Ok so when we got heard Black Moth Super Rainbow is gearing up to release a brand new studio described as a “dark bubblegum freakout” and full of “sticky, off-kilter melodies,” we can’t say we were really surprised. After all, this is the same group that released the insanely psychedelic Dandelion Gum in 2007 and who have spent quite a bit of time on the road with the Flaming Lips. But then we got to the part about the record, which is entitled Eating Us and due out on May 26th via Graveface Records, being Black Moth’s first “hi-fi” endeavor. You know, the type that add “space and dimension” to those afformentioned melodieis?

    Yeah, we’re eagered to hear how this works too. But rest assured, regardless of how Get Hungry‘s “dense layers of lushly complex orchestration” and “intense rhythmic drumming” come across on the ear drums, for the sole sake of the “hairy summer jewel” case jacket that the Dave Fridmann produced record will be packaged in, it will be worth checking out.

    Ahead of the release, the Pittsburgh based outfit has offered up a taste of album – in the form of a medley sample – which you can check out below. A North American tour is also planned, however, dates are still forthcoming…


    Check Out:
    Eating Us medley

    Eating Us Tracklist:
    01. Born On A Day The Sun Didn’t Rise
    02. Dark Bubbles
    03. Twin Of Myself
    04. Gold Splatter
    05. Iron Lemonade
    06. Tooth Decay
    07. Fields Are Breathing
    08. Smile The Day After Today
    09. The Sticky
    10. Bubblegum Animals
    11. American Face Dust

Latest Stories