Green Day’s 21st Century Breakdown

placeholder image

Tuesday Update: Scroll down for album artwork…

Oh, Green Day, where have you been for the past five years? Actually, they’ve been pretty busy. Between releasing one of the best albums post-2000 (e.g. American Idiot), touring the world for two years plus, collaborating with U2 for a post-Katrina song, covering some John Lennon, in addition to shelling out an album through a new side project (e.g. Foxboro Hot Tubs’ Stop, Drop and Roll), one can’t argue that Billie Joe Armstrong and co don’t know when to stop.

picture 31 Green Days 21st Century BreakdownThat might explain the title behind their eighth studio album, 21st Century Breakdown. While its been in the cards for some time now, the California punkers are ready to release the long awaited follow up to 2004’s American Idiot, which will usher in a new era for the band. Surprised? Wait, didn’t you hear their announcement last night at the Grammy’s? No? It’s okay, we don’t blame you for skipping out on the three hours plus event.

Shortly after the televised announcement, it seems the ball started rolling. For starters, the band’s official site immediately threw up a banner advertising pre-orders for the new album. Of course, the website’s vague “May 2009” banner should leave some scratching their heads as to when the release date actually is, but, fortunately for you, this writer’s a.) an Idiot Club member, b.) internet savvy, and c.) ultra-materialistic. Shortly after I pre-ordered the new album, I checked my receipt and found the street date which reads: May 15, 2009. According to my trusty Peanuts calendar, May 15 is a Friday and given that I’m also a cheapskate and went for the cheapest shipping, that should put the album’s release date at May 12!

picture 21 Green Days 21st Century Breakdown

So there you have it. Now all we have to do is wait ’til then, but that doesn’t mean there won’t be something exciting coming up soon. Typically singles are released a month in advance, so a new single should probably find its way to rock radio and the internet sometime in late March, early April. As for what’s on the album, there have been some interesting and intriguing reports. Last November, the band leaked some videos from the studio, and they also let loose some information to Alternative Press.

Here are some details from the interview:

  • Butch Vig (Nirvana, Garbage) is producing.
  • The album’s “conceptual in spirit.”
  • Two new characters to add to the Green Day repertoire: “Christian” and “Gloria.”
  • The album’s divided into three parts: “Heroes And Cons”, “Charlatans And Saints”, Horseshoes And Handgrenades”
  • Armstrong summarizes the album: “It’s like an apocalyptic angry mob with a city on fire and flashing lights while making out with your girlfriend.” He compares the album’s flow of songs to that of Bruce Springsteen’s Born to Run.
  • Despite us living in a post-Bush world, the album is very political, yet on a more “personal level.”

Sometime after the Grammy’s, USA Today must have caught up with Armstrong because this morning they ran a short blurb on the upcoming album. In it, Armstrong summarizes the album again, this time being a lil’ more specific. He now says, “It’s about reflecting what’s been happening the past three years and putting it to melody with some bold statements.” On songs like “March of the Dogs”, Armstrong explains, “I have nothing against religion. It’s about preying on people’s blind faith. I’m all for spirituality. There’s nothing more spiritual than rock ‘n’ roll.” To add more spice to the mix, the band’s also uploaded a looped acoustic track on the site’s main page, which kind of feels a bit U2/Who-ish. It’s not much, but that should put some things in perspective for you.

And finally, last but not least, here is the official new cover artwork:

ev55jm 300x300 Green Days 21st Century Breakdown

Does anyone else think of Shenanigans, the band’s b-sides compilation, when they look at that? It must be the spray paint. Regardless, I think I just felt a shiver down my spine. The excitement, at least for me, is almost too much to handle. This is easily the most anticipated album of 2009 and fans everywhere will eat it up in the millions. Sigh, it’s good to know Armstrong, Tre Cool, and Mike Dirnt are back on the proverbial saddle again.

Here’s to May 12, 2009!

(Food for thought: With Blink-182 back in action, does anyone else think a co-headlining tour might be possible? *cough* Pop Disaster Tour 2! *cough*)

Check Out: