Iron & Wine goes intimate

placeholder image

    Turns out Iron & Wine‘s upcoming engagement with Flight of the Conchords won’t mark the debut of Sam Beam, the comedian. Rather, the tour date will be just one of many upcoming stops that Sam Bean, the musician, will be using to support Around the Well, a 2-CD/3-LP collection of rare tracks ranging from out-of-print to never-before-released.

    Consisting of 23 tracks, the compilation will span Beam’s entire career as Iron & Wine, one half featuring an assortment of raw, unedited home recording, and the second capturing some more mastered, but equally rare, in studio highlights. Of particular highlight will be the inclusion of four tracks originally recorded for the film, In Good Company, along with several covers, which see Beam tackling everyone from The Flaming Lips to New Order.

    As mentioned, Around the Well will be supported by eleven upcoming tour dates, ten of which will convey quite a bit of intimacy. Excluding the aforementioned show on May 17th at Red Rocks Amphitheatre with Flight of the Conchords, Iron & Wine will perform ten shows in five cities over the month of May, with each show be “wholly unique,” as fans will be able to chose the setlist. Between March 6th and 30th, fans who head over to will by city and night for the songs they’d like to see performed each evening. And get this: for those who can’t attend the upcoming engagements, the shows will be made available after the tour is completed on Iron and Wine’s official live recording site Played Last Night.


    Tickets (will-call only) for all shows go on sale beginning February 20th via

    Around the Well Tracklist:
    Disc 1
    01. Dearest Forsaken
    02. Morning
    03. Loud as Hope
    04. Peng! 33
    05. Sacred Vision
    06. Friends They Are Jewels
    07. Hickory
    08. Waitin’ for a Superman
    09. Swans and the Swimming
    10. Call Your Boys
    11. Such Great Heights
    Disc 2
    01. Communion Cups & Someone’s Coat
    02. Belated Promise Ring
    03. God Made the Automobile
    04. Homeward, These Shoes
    05. Love Vigilantes
    06. Sinning Hands
    07. No Moon
    08. Serpent Charmer
    9. Carried Home
    10. Kingdom of the Animals
    11. Arms of a Thief
    12. The Trapeze Swinger

    Iron & Wine 2009 Tour Dates:
    05/04 – Seattle, WA @ Vera Project
    05/05 – Seattle, WA @ Triple Door
    05/06 – San Francisco, CA @ Swedish American Hall
    05/07 – San Francisco, CA @ Swedish American Hall
    05/08 – Los Angeles, CA @ Masonic Hall at Hollywood Forever Cemeter
    05/09 – Los Angeles, CA @ Troubadour
    05/12 – Chicago, IL @ Lakeshore Theatre
    05/13 – Chicago, IL @ Schuba’s
    05/16 – Denver, CO @ Red Rocks Amphitheatre *
    05/17 – New York, NY @ Abrons Art Center
    05/18 – New York, NY @ Abrons Art Center

    * = w/ Flight of the Conchords

Latest Stories