Beastie Boys ready to Check Your Head again…

placeholder image

Before they hit up the festival circuit this summer or release their follow up to 2007’s The Mix Up, the Beastie Boys will reissue yet another old time favorite. This time around, the Jewish rappers are putting out a remastered, expanded edition of their critically and commercially successful album, Check Your Head. At the rate they’re pumping these out, we’re likely to have reissues of Ill Communication and Hello Nasty by summer’s end.

If you can stretch that memory of yours as far back as 1992, right around the time Eddie Furlong still had a career and Gavin Rossdale was just beginning to teach himself Nirvana songs, you might remember such Beastie hits “So What’cha Want”, “Pass The Mic”, “Gratitude,” and “Jimmy James”. All of these which came off the chart topping conglomerate Check Your Head, which brought the group out of the ’80s and into the forefront again. It only seems fitting that they’re reissuing the record in a time where they’re essentially doing the same thing again. Details regarding the release after the jump.

To cap off the reissues and festival appearances, the New Yorkers have also confirmed a headlining slot at California’s Hollywood Bowl. The show, confirmed for September 24th, will be the first time the Beasties have headlined the sacred arena, and will also kick start a promotional run in support of the aforementioned new album.

Whether you’re in for reissues or not, this is a hell of a year to be a fan.

Check Your Head reissue configurations:
* Digital Download (album and b-sides)
– Deluxe Digital Option (also includes videos and video commentary)
* Deluxe, limited collector’s vinyl + Digital Download
* Standard double vinyl + Digital Download
* Ecopack double CD + Digital Download
* Shirt combos:
– Deluxe Digital + shirt
– Standard Vinyl + shirt
– CD + shirt
– Deluxe, limited collector’s vinyl + shirt

Ch-Check Out: