Pete Yorn mixes things up on new album

placeholder image

    Based on the successes experienced by Pete Yorn since the release of his debut studio album, musicforthemorningafter, in 2001, you wouldn’t think the New Jersey born singer/songwriter hit the restart button and start from scratch. But following the release of 2006’s Nightcrawler and the resulting completion of what he considers a trilogy, Yorn did just that, and come June 23rd will look to unveil the end result with the release of his fourth studio album,

    Entitled Back and Fourth, the 10-track effort is said to represent a radical change in Yorn’s creative process. For one, the album marks the first time the New Jerseyan wrote lyrics before composing melodies. Then there’s the fact recording took place in relative solitude of Omaha under the watchful eye of producer Mike Mogis (Bright Eyes, Rilo Kiley) and support for the first time by a backing band. And finally, none other than Rick Rubin provided “creative consulting,” guiding the project from its earliest demo stages to final mastering. Consequently, Back and Fourth is described as Yorn’s most organic and personal to date amidst “mandolin lullabies” and “bracing anthems.”

    Yorn will tour in support of the release in the coming months. Dates are still forthcoming. While your waiting, check out the album’s first single, “Don’t Wanna Cry”, below…


    Check Out:
    “Don’t Wanna Cry”

    Back and Forth Tracklist:
    01. Don’t Wanna Cry
    02. Paradise Cove
    03. Close
    04. Social Development
    05. Shotgun
    06. Last Summer
    07. Thinking of You
    08. Country
    09. Four Years
    10. Long Time

    Pete Yorn 2009 Tour Dates:
    03/15 – Boston, MA @ The Cutler Majestic Theater (WERS 60th Anniversary Celebration)

Latest Stories