Jeff Beck plans solo album, as does Ronnie Wood and Al Jardine

placeholder image

    Leave it to last weekend’s Rock ‘n’ Roll Hall of Fame Induction ceremony to bring about the details of not one, not two, but three new solo albums from some of music’s biggest names. Thanks to some serious loose lips and awesome due diligence by the fine folks over at, it’s time to get the anticipation train rolling again for 1.) Jeff Beck, 2.) Ronnie Wood, and 3.) Al Jardine.

    Talk about a lot to take in. So, how about we break it all down…

    Jeff Beck

    First up, Mr. Beck. Hot on the heels of news that the legendary guitarist will be headlining this year’s Montreal Jazz Fest, come word that following the appearance and other upcoming U.S. dates, Beck will likely return hit the studio to begin work on the followup to 2003’s Jeff.

    The forthcoming session will mark the second time in as many years that the legendary musician will hit the studio with his backing outfit of keyboardist Jason Rebello, bassist Tal Wilkenfeld and drummer Vinie Colaiuta. However, unlike the material recorded from last year’s sessions in California, which is said to be sitting on a hard drive, the sounds of this time around may actually be packaged in a release. “There may be some fruit in there,” Beck said of music currently found in the hard drive, “but I’d rather just start again with the four of us, the way we work together, and start hacking together some things.”


    Well, that if Beck finds the courage…

    “I get this release phobia when I get halfway through a project. I go, ‘That’s no good. I don’t think that’s gonna work.’ Then I listen to it about a year later and think, ‘Eh, it would have worked. It’s just late not ’cause it’s old-fashioned,’ so it never gets done.”

    Ronnie Wood

    Ronnie Wood’s plans are a bit more concrete. The Rolling Stones guitarist/bassist has reportedly recorded a dozen songs for a solo album called More Good News, which will also feature the talents of producer Bob Rock and Pearl Jam’s Eddie Vedder – is there anyone he isn’t hanging out with these days? No word on a release date, but when it does surface, it will mark Wood’s first album of new material since 2001’s Not for Beginners.

    Al Jardine

    Al Jardine will also look to tap quite a list of high-profile names for his own new studio album. Neil Young, Steve Miller, Stephen Stills, the Red Hot Chili Peppers’ Flea, Glen Campbell, John Stamos, and former Beach Boys bandmate Brian Wilson all appear on Post Card From California, a 12-track effort billed as “a mix of original songs and ‘a Beach Boys standard or two,’ including ‘Help Me, Rhonda.'” In an interview with Billboard, Jardine described the album as a “a travelogue for California” – hey, now the album title makes sense! – full of “easy listening.” No word on a release date on this one either, but Jardine has unveiled the tracklist, which you can check out below.


    Post Card From California Tracklist:
    01. California Feelin’
    02. Looking Down the Coast
    03. Don’t Fight the Sea
    04. Tidepool Interlude
    05. California Saga
    06. Honking Down the Highway
    07. Driving
    08. San Simeon
    09. Help Me Rhonda
    10. Postcard from California
    11. And I always will
    12. California Dreaming

Latest Stories