Son Volt plans “dusty” summer

placeholder image

    No sooner do we celebrate the onset of quarter #2 then it’s time to start thinking #3, and what appears to be a dusty one at that. On July 7th, Son Volt will return with its sixth studio album, a 12-track effort entitled American Central Dust.

    According to, the album, which will mark the alt country outfit’s first new release since 2007’s The Search, will see Son Volt returning to the melodic simplicity of its debut album Trace – in other words, don’t expect more electric atmospheres, horns and pedal loops that filled The Search.

    But the music won’t be the only thing new about American Central Dust; it will also mark a new beginning for the band, its first release with Burlington, Vermont based Rounder Records.

    In support of the release, Son Volt will embark on a North American tour beginning in July.

    American Central Dust Tracklist:
    01. Dynamite
    02. Down To The Wire
    03. Roll On
    04. Cocaine And Ashes
    05. Dust Of Daylight
    06. When The Wheels Don’t Move
    07. No Turning Back
    08. Pushed Too Far
    09. Exiles
    10. Sultana
    11. Strength And Doubt
    12. Jukebox of Steel


Latest Stories