Discovery ready for launch

placeholder image

    Discovery, aka the musical creation/side-project of Vampire Weekend’s Rostam Batmanglij and Ra Ra Riot’s Wes Miles, is ready to take that giant leap from MySpace streaming and demo leaks to the release of an actual full-length studio album. On July 7th, Discovery will release Discovery, a 10-track debut LP which will have all the indie kids talking, and not just because if those aforementioned demos reflect anything, the album’s sound will be Sunny Delight-enhanced mashup of VW and Ra Ra. That’s because the album will also feature a couple guests, including Batmanglij’s fellow Vampirer Ezra Koenig and Dirty Projectors’ Angel Deradoorian. Then, there’s stuff, as Pitchfork reports, like an autotone cover of the Jackson 5’s “I Want You Back” and a space-pop remix of Ra Ra Riot’s “Can You Tell” (re-dubbed “Can You Discover?”).

    In non-side-project news, Vampire Weekend is recording, Ra Ra Riot is touring, and American Idol just got its lowest ratings ever.

    All is right in the world.

    Check Out:
    “Orange Shirt”
    “Osaka Loop Line”

    Discovery Tracklist:
    01. Orange Shirt
    02. Osaka Loop Line
    03. Can You Discover?
    04. I Wanna Be Your Boyfriend (feat. Angel Deradoorian)
    05. So Insane
    06. Swing Tree
    07. Carby (feat. Ezra Koenig)
    08. I Want You Back
    09. It’s Not My Fault (It’s My Fault)
    10. Slang Tang


Latest Stories