Mew seriously wants you to know that it has a new album coming out

placeholder image

Mew is a fairly popular band hailing from Hellerup, Denmark. To date, the trio, consisting of members Jonas Bjerre, Bo Madsen, and Silas Utke Graae Jørgensen, has four full-length effort to its name, and a slew of acclaim from all the usual suspects. Sounds like your standard indie outfit, right?

Well, come August 25th, Mew will look to up the ante a bit, with the release of what will probably turn out to be the longest titled album of 2009. In fact, the name of the followup to 2006’s And The Glass Handed Kites is actually a poem, which goes something like this:

No more stories
Are told today
I’m sorry
They washed away

No more stories
The world is grey
I’m tired
Let’s wash away

Yes, ladies and gentlemen, the above two stanza, eight line, and 95 character poem is in fact the title of Mew’s fifth full-length effort? So, is this title the band’s attempt to create a name for itself and/or put everyone of us bloggers on super life tilt trying to figure out how to refer this album?

Who really knows, but at the very least, Mew has definitely caught out attention. What we also know is that the band recorded the 12-track (we think?) album with Rich Costey last summer in New York and came up with a sound that is described as featuring a new up-beat and lighter aura.

Ahead of the release, Mew will drop a five-track EP on June 30th. Simply entitled No More Stories, the effort will consist of two new tracks taken from the upcoming album along with three b-sides. Oh, and there are a few tour dates that will support the release as well – ordinary stuff when you consider the above.

No More Stories… Tracklist:
01. New Terrain
02. Introducing Palace Players
03. Beach
04. Repeater Beater
image001 Mew seriously wants you to know that it has a new album coming out
05. Silas The Magic Car
06. Cartoons and Macramé Wounds
07. A Dream
08. Hawaii
09. Vaccine
10. Tricks Of The Trade
image002 Mew seriously wants you to know that it has a new album coming out
11. Sometimes Life Isn’t Easy
12. Reprise

No More Stories EP Tracklist:
01. Introducing Palace Players
02. Repeater Beater
03. Owl (B-side)
04. Start (B-side)
05. Swimmers Chant (B-side)

Mew 2009 Tour Dates:
06/29 – Dusseldorf, DE @ Phillipshalle *
06/30 – Berlin, DE @ Berlin Arena *
07/02 – Rosklide, DK @ Roskilde Festival
07/04 – Turku, FI @ Ruisrock Festival
07/07 – Paris, FR @ Zenih De Paris *
07/08 – Amsterdam, NL @ Heinekin Music Hall *
07/09 – Luxembourg @ Rockhal *
07/15 – London, UK @ O2 Arena *
07/17 – Suffolk, UK @ Latitude Festival
07/19 – Chicago, IL @ Pitchfork Festival
08/07 – Tokyo, JP @ Summer Sonic
08/08 – Osaka, JP @ Summer Sonic
08/14 – Copenhagen, DK @ Beatday 09

* = w/ Nine Inch Nails

Leave a comment