Patrick Wolf turns Battle into The Bachelor

placeholder image

It hard to be confident about any investment these days. Paul McCartney, Elton John, and Mick Jagger all can probably tell you that. But it looks like more than a few folks had enough confidence to invest in the return of the one and only Patrick Wolf. How do we know? The English singer/songwriter is currently gearing up for for not one, but two not studio albums.

To be fair, all Wolf did was take Battle, an originally planned double album, and split it up into two single efforts. But because, as we noted back in December, Wolfe implored fans to help him finance the recording of his new material, something which actually appeared to work, the genius of the idea remains.

Anyhow, back to the actually details: The first of the two releases, a 14-track effort entitled The Bachelor, will officially be unveiled digitally via iTunes on June 2nd and physically via Nylon Records on August 11st. The album sports a freaky album cover and lots of guests, including Alec Empire, Tilda Swinton, Eliza Carthy, and Matthew Herbert. Oh, and if you take stock in snippets, like the recently shelled out promotional video for single #1, “Vulture”, well, prepare yourself for yet another synth-friendly ’09 release.

The second of the two albums, titled The Conqueror, is due for release early next year.

The Bachelor Tracklist:
01. Kriegspiel
02. Hard Times
03. Oblivion
04. The Bachelor
05. Damaris
06. Thickets
07. Count the Casualty
08. Who Will
09. Vulture
10. Blackdown
11. The Sun Is Often Out
12. Theseus
13. Battle
14. The Messenger