Eight years later… Q-Tip readies release of Kamaal the Abstract

placeholder image

On September 15th, nearly eight years after it was originally scheduled to hit record shelves, Q-Tip will finally release Kamaal the Abstract via Battery Records.

If you don’t know the story/why this is a big deal, let’s recap (via Uppity Music): The nine-track effort, which is described as as a “daring mélange of soul, supa-cool jazz, head nodding hip-hop, and organic pop magic in the vein of Stevie Wonder or Prince,” had been scheduled for release in 2002. However, Arista/BMG Records ultimately canceled the release, deeming the album “uncommerical,” aka they didn’t like the fact that the hip-hopper sang on several tracks. Eventually, Q-Tip negotiated his release from the label, acquired the rights to the Kamaal the Abstract and re-mixed and re-mastered it, which has led to us where we are now.

And, who said petitions don’t work…

Kamaal the Abstract Tracklist:
01. Feelin’
02. Do U Dig U?
03. A Million Times
04. Blue Girl
05. Barely In Love
06. Heels
07. Reverber For Factory
08. Caring
09. Even If It’s So

Leave a comment