Monkeys Mania to soon take over the world…again

It’s been over two years since the Arctic Monkeys released their sophomore effort, Favourite Worst Nightmare, which in Arctic Monkeys time feels like an eternity  – um, it kind of only took the Monkeys 14 months to followup their debut album. Needless to say, a new studio album is long overdue.

Privy to this, the Monkeys have announced plans to end this drought with the release of a brand new studio effort on August 25th. And while the album doesn’t have a title quite yet, it does have a tracklist, and names for the 10 tracks making up that list – early favorites include “Dangerous Animals” and “Fire and the Thud”. What’s more, we also know, courtesy of previous news pieces and a posting on the band’s website, that the album will feature the producing talents of both Queens of the Stone Age’s Josh Homme and Simian Mobile Disco figurehead/Favourite Worst Nightmare producer James Ford.

As for what one can expect for the album’s content? Well, if you remember back in January – here’s the link if you can’t, we posted about the band’s debuting of a new track entitled “Pretty Lights”. At the time, this writer described it like this: “Kicked off by Alex Turner stabbing away on an all too familiar toy piano – ‘Icky Thump’ anyone? – ‘Pretty Visitors’ is soon overwhelmed by the band’s characteristic clash of rifts and drum beats behind a free styling Turner. However, just as soon as the rock appears, it is gone, replaced by a spooky and dirtier texture that provides support for another round of piano playing. All in all, it’s definitely different, but that doesn’t mean it isn’t as catchy and captivating as any of the band’s previous material.”

Considering this very track has made its way onto the tracklist, its probably a safe bet to assume that the Arctic Monkey’s third full-length may sound something like that. It could also be assumed that the effects of Homme’s psychedelic drug-taking during the band’s studio sessions might also making their way onto the album – strictly from a production, non-band-taking sense of course. And finally, there’s that who Diddy thing…

In support of the release, the Arctic Monkeys have a pretty full docket of summer tour dates festival appearances, including two in the U.S. at Lollapalooza and All Points West.

Arctic Monkeys Third LP Tracklist:
01. My Propeller
02. Crying Lightning
03. Dangerous Animals
04. Secret Door
05. Potion Approaching
06. Fire & The Thud
07. Cornerstone
08. Dance Little Liar
09. Pretty Visitors
10. The Jeweller’s Hands


Follow Consequence