Rodrigo y Gabriela are really into the number 11

A quick count has five things relating to the number #11 on Rodrigo y Gabriela‘s forthcoming full-length, which is due out September 8th via TO Records. 1.) The title of the album is 11:11. 2.) The album features 11 new compositions and 3.) is billed as the band’s personal “Gracias” to 11 musicians, both past and present, who have inspired them along the way. 4.) Of the 11 tracks, track #11 is, like the album itself, titled “11:11”. 5.) The cover of 11:11 features, shocker an 11 on it! And if you want to go the extra mile, you could argue the name Rodrigo y Gabriela features 11 characters, that is after you subtract five, which would make occurrence.

We’d now like to apologize for the above example of sheer stupidity.

What isn’t related to the number 11 is the fact that album was recorded in Ixtapa, Mexico and produced by Rodrigo y Gabriela, with John Leckie co-producing two of the tracks. The album was mixed in Wales and London by Colin Richardson, who you may know for his work with Slipknot and Trivium. There will also be a couple guests, including Testament’s Alex Skolnick and the duo of Strunz & Farah.

In support of 11:11, Rodrigo y Gabriela will embark on a North American tour beginning this September. So far, only five dates are on the agenda, but more will be announced in the coming weeks.

11:11 Tracklist:
01. Hanuman
02. Buster Voodoo
03. Triveni
04. Logos
05. Santo Domingo
06. Master Maqui (feat. Strunz & Farah)
07. Savitri
08. Hora Zero
09. Chac Mool
10. Atman (feat. Alex Skolnick)
11. 11:11

Rodrigo y Gabriela 2009 Tour Dates:
06/28 – Milwaukee, WI @ Summerfest
09/16 – New York, NY @ Terminal 5
09/19 – Denver, CO @ Temple Hoyne Buelle Theatre
09/21 – Seattle, WA @ Moore Theatre
09/23 – Oakland, CA @ Fox Theater
09/25 – Los Angeles, CA @ Orpheum Theater


Follow Consequence