The Dodos gear up for Time to Die

placeholder image

    Visiter, The Dodos’ 2008 sophomore album, and first for Frenchkiss Records, was seen by many as a resounding success. Combining simple pop ditties that were centered on a two prong axis of drum and guitar, the results were beautiful, chaotic, melodic, and ingenuity personified. Songs like “Ashley” were haunting in their aching beauty while a song like “Undeclared” had the unassuming charm of a young man groping with his convictions and feelings in the simplest of terms.

    This is one of the reasons to be excited about news of The Dodos’ forthcoming studio album. Another is the album’s title, Time to Die, which in itself kicks ass. Other reasons? Well, the nine-track effort, which is due out on September 15th, was produced by indie rock producer Phil Ek, the same Phil Ek who has previously worked with the likes Built to Spill, Fleet Foxes, and The Shins. The album will also mark the band’s first with new member Keaton Snyder (yes, the band is now a trio!), a classically trained music school dropout who will be bringing his killer vibraphone skills to The Dodos, which according to frontman frontman Meric Long (via Pitchfork), allows Time to Die to “sound more like a band.”

    Time to Die? Yes, please.

    Time To Die Tracklist:
    01. Small Deaths
    02. Longform
    03. Fables
    04. The Strums
    05. This Is A Business
    06. Two Medicines
    07. Troll Nacht
    08. Acorn Factory
    09. Time To Die

Latest Stories