Apse Climp Up for new album

placeholder image

In the three years that have followed the release of 2006’s Spirit, the Connecticut rock outfit known as Apse has seen two of its members, Ezer Lichtenstein and Austin Stawiarz, depart, three new members, drummer Brandon Collins, guitarist Jed Armour and bassist John Mordecai, join, and multi-instrumentalist Aaron Piccirillo quit and re-join, all while frontman Robert Toher and guitarist Michael Gundlach relocated to Cape Cod, Massachusetts to begin work on a new album.

While all that might be a bit hard to comprehend, this piece of Apse news is not: On October 20th, the sextet will unveil its sophomore effort with the release of Climb Up via ATP Recordings. As mentioned, the album was written by Toher and Gundlach in Cape Cod and is said to be a reflection of this setting — “Tying into the creative methods as well as the story of the lives of the band’s members as they crafted the album,” the press release notes.

As a result, Climb Up‘s 12 tracks are said to be a “major departure” from the material heard on Spirit. It is described as bold, unique and “more illuminated,” with more grooves, a greater use of electronics, and a wide rang range of both modern and classical instrumentation.

Get the tracklist below. Other details forthcoming…

Apse 2009 Tour Dates:
12/11 – Minehead, UK @ Ten Years of ATP

Climb Up Tracklist:
01. Blown Doors
02. 3.1
03. All Mine
04. Rook
05. In Gold
06. The Age
07. Tropica
08. The Whip
09. Lie
10. The Return
11. Climb Up
12. Closure

Leave a comment