Insane Clown Posse returns to roots with Bang! Pow! Boom!

placeholder image

    It is unfortunately rare that rap-rock/pro wrestling duo Insane Clown Posse get noticed by major corporate media outlets. So, we’re going to give them some love. Once considered in bad taste or just plain pointless, the bread winners of Psychopathic Records have developed a expansive fan cult for an underground artist. At their peak, the Insane Clown Posse released numerous albums in a semi-coherent storyline linked by “Joker’s Cards”. This series of seven “cards” introduced The Dark Carnival — a metaphorical representation of what could be purgatory -0 where one’s soul is judged before being sent to Heaven (Shangri-La) or Hell (Hell’s Pit). The most recent efforts by ICP (The Tempest, Psychopathics From Outer Space) hinted at the end of this story, but apparently they are returning to their roots with Bang! Pow! Boom!, scheduled for release on September 1st, 2009.

    As per the ol’ fashioned press release:

    Insane Clown Posse, the Detroit duo of Violent J and Shaggy 2 Dope, are readying their tenth full-length release Bang! Pow! Boom! Already multiple times platinum with albums The Great Milenko and The Amazing Jeckel Brothers now the underground duo is back and poised to strike again. The group’s dark visions and Barnum minds have spawned a carnival of music and mayhem often scorned by mainstream media, but embraced by an entire sub-culture of like minded-individuals.

    What does this mean for the fans known as “juggalos”? Based on the audio sample promoting the album (scroll down), it likely means more skits, haunted backdrops and a slew of new tracks guaranteed to please. It also means a pretty extensive, yet-to-be-announced North American tour. Finally, Bang! Pow! Boom! will be released in three different editions coded as red, green and blue — each of which with a different intro and bonus track.


    Ahead of the release, the Insane Clown Posse will host the 10th annual Gathering of the Juggalos. This year’s edition, set to take place between August 6th and 9th in Cave-In-Rock, IL, will feature performances by Tech N9ne, Kottonmouth Kings, Ice Cube, Gwar, Coolio, Goast, Haystack, and Vanilla Ice.

    Check Out:
    Bang! Pow! Boom! sampler

Latest Stories