Kings Of Convenience return with a Decleration

What better way to end a five years of silence, minus a few tour dates here and there, with the release of a Declaration. On October 20th, the Norwegian folk-pop duo known as Kings of Convenience will offer their first full-length since 2004’s Riot on an Empty Street with a 13-track effort entitled Declaration of Dependence.

Recoded in Begen, Norway and Italy and produced by longtime collaborator Davide Bertolini, the album is billed as featuring some of the group’s most stripped down material to date, with “hush,” “plaintive,” and “Simon & Garfunkel-ish” among the words is using to describe it.

What’s ironic, however, is that the album’s first single is “Mrs. Cold”, one of the more upbeat tunes out of the 13 tracks. The single is currently available for stream at Stereogum.

The Kings Of Convenience plan to support the release with some yet-to-be-announced tour dates, though according to Billboard, a U.S. leg is not currently in the works.

Declaration of Dependence Tracklist:
01. 24-25
02. Mrs. Cold
03. Me in You
04. Boat Behind
05. Rule My World
06. My Ship Isn’t Pretty
07. Renegade
08. Power of Not Knowing
09. Peacetime Resistance
10. Freedom and Its Owner
11. Scars on Land
12. Second to Numb
13. Riot on an Empty Street


Follow Consequence