Jay-Z plans ultimate release party for leaky new record

Most bands celebrate a new album with some sort of record release show. Usually it’s at a small venue in the band’s hometown where friends, family, and the most hardcore of fans come together to applaud the band’s latest venture.

But when your name is Jay-Z and you have an album as anticipated as The Blueprint 3 on the cards, it’s safe to assume you’ll take it up a notch or two. And that’s exactly what the New York rapper will be doing. On September 11th, the same day his 11th studio album is due for release, Hova will throw a benefit concert at Madison Square Garden in New York City. The New York Times reports the shindig, which will also broadcast on television via Fuse, will look to support the New York Police and Fire Widows and Children’s Benefit Fund, a charity created to support the families of police officers and firefighters who have died in the line of duty. Ticket information for the event has yet to be released.

The news follows an already eventful Jay-Z related week of headlines. Following the official announcement of Blueprint 3‘s tracklist, two more of the album’s 15 tracks unintentionally hit the web last weekend. The most recent leak has resulted in two Timbaland-produced future-hits, one being the organ-heavy, ego-friendly “Reminder” and the other, the Drake-featuring, politically charged “Off That”. Check out both below.

T-minus 16 days.

The Blueprint 3 Tracklist:
01. What We Talkin’ About (feat. Luke Steele of Empire of the Sun)
02. Thank You
03. D.O.A. (Death of Auto-Tune)
04. Run This Town (feat. Kanye West and Rihanna)
05. Empire State of Mind (feat. Alicia Keys)
06. Real As It Gets (ft. Young Jeezy)
07. On to the Next One (feat. Swizz Beatz)
08. Off That (feat. Drake)
09. A Star Is Born (feat. J. Cole)
10. Venus Vs. Mars
11. Already Home (feat. Kid Cudi)
12. Hate (feat. Kanye West)
13. Reminder
14. So Ambitious (feat. Pharrell)
15. Young Forever (feat. Mr. Hudson)


Follow Consequence