Woodpigeon preps Die Stadt Muzikanten

placeholder image

Confusing titles or not, there’s no denying that Woodpigeon (aka Mark Andrew of The Hamiltons) makes some pretty righteous records. And after his last full-length, the internationally acclaimed, Treasury Library Canada, Hamilton is now set to release a followup.

According to an issued press release, the fifteen track, Arran Fisher-produced Die Stadt Muzikanten will be released by Boompa Records on Janurary 12, 2010. As the press release details, the album “…Moves and contorts like a film soundtrack. Lush, grand moments complement Mark’s signature cinematic “pretty-pretty-pop” sound.” Sound interesting? Wait… there is more!

The title of the record should come as no surprise to those who’ve been following Andrew as of late. After an extended stay in Germany, Hamilton found himself “fascinated by the endless inspiration as he recollected thoughts of his childhood and took in the sounds and smells of a place once inhabited by his grandparents, to whom the album is dedicated.”

“I started thinking in terms of couples,” explains Hamilton of his time in Berlin, “of people coming and going, of walls and windows. Images of boating across the ocean to an unknown new life, and how so many of the movements I took run in the opposite direction from theirs.” Upon his return to his small Calgary apartment, the songs revealed themselves and Die Stadt Muzikanten was born.”

Andrew is still staying true to his Canadian roots, however. He was recently included in the CBC Radio 2 “Great Canadian Song Quest” competition. Evidently, Woodpigeon is one of five artists from the vast province of Alberta who are up for the opportunity to compose a song inspired by locations as chosen by Canadians. You can hear the first sampling off Die Stadt Muzikanten, and vote for Woodpigeon now by going to

Do I smell some Dueling Banjos with the Rural Alberta Advantage?

The album is currently available for pre-order via the Boompa online store. Check out the tracklisting below.

Die Stadt Muzikanten Tracklist:
01. Die Stadt Muzikanten
02. Woodpigeon vs. Eagleowl (Strength in Numbers)
03. Empty-Hall Sing-Along
04. Morningside
05. My Denial In Argyle
06. Enchantée Janvier
07. Such A Lucky Girl
08. Unmissable Grey, Mixed Paint
09. Duck Duck Goose
10. Spirehouse
11. Redbeard
12. The Street Noise Gives You Away
13. …And as the Ship Went Down, You’d Never Looked Finer
14. The Pesky Druthers (Parts 1 & 2)
15. Our Love is as Tall as the Calgary Tower