Indie bands get together to fight Malaria

The latest album that actually does something aside from offering good music will come on November 17th when RED Distribution will unveil a 14-track compilation record titled Indie Rocks! A Benefit Album For Malaria No More. As you may have guessed from the title, the effort features the musical contributions of those who rock in indie (Peter Bjorn & John, The Walkmen, Those Darlins, and Juliette Lewis to name a few) and uses the profits earned to benefit the non-profit organization Malaria No More, which, again as you may have guessed from the title, seeks to put an end to malaria, and more specifically, malaria deaths in Africa by 2015.

Getting back to the music for a moment, the release includes two exclusive tracks — a Peter Bjorn & John cover of Seals & Crofts’ “Summer Breeze” and a previously unreleased live version of Third Eye Blind’s “Bonfire”. So, as if there weren’t enough reasons to pick this up, you’ll be getting something new as well.

As mentioned, Indie Rocks! A Benefit Album For Malaria No More will be released on November 17th via RED. It will be available exclusively through Amie Street first (for a four week period) and then all participating digital service providers thereafter. Amie Street will also make the compilation available at multiple price points, effectively giving consumers the option to make a donation in the amount of $10, $20, $50 or $100.

Preview PB&J’s “Summer Breeze” below. Tracklist after that.

Check Out:
Peter Bjorn & John – “Summer Breeze” (Seals & Crofts)

Indie Rocks! A Benefit Album For Malaria No More Tracklist:
01. Peter Bjorn & John – Summer Breeze (Exclusive)
02. Juliette Lewis – Fantasy Bar, from Terra Incognita
03. Jeff The Brotherhood – Bone Jam, from Heavy Days
04. The Grates – Two Kinds Of Right  from Teeth Lost, Hearts Won
05. Third Eye Blind – Bonfire (Exclusive, Live in NYC)
06. Dirty Little Rabbits- Hello, from Simon
07. Wild Light – Adult Nights, from Adult Nights
08. The Walkmen – Four Provinces, from You & Me
09. State Radio – Let It Go, from Calling All Crows
10. Those Darlins – Wild One, from Those Darlins
11. Great Lake Swimmers – Pulling On A Line, from Lost Channels
12. Kate Miller Heidke – Politics in Space, from EP Kate Miller-Heidke
13. Yonder Mountain String Band – Fingerprint, from The Show
14. Youssou N’Dour – Fight Malaria


Follow Consequence