Sigur Rós contributes to lullaby compilation; Jonsi added to Coachella

If you have little ones and a bad singing voice, why not let the professionals have a stab at it? On May 18th, American Laundromat Records will release Sing Me to Sleep, a charity compilation of “lullabies and non-lullabies”, according to TwentyFourBit. Among the artists contributing to this album: Papercuts, Stars, Telekenesis, and O+S. The album features a broad selection of source material, from “The Rainbow Connection” to Don Henley’s “Boys of Summer”. In addition, pre-ordering the album will get you a poster and limited edition 7″, featuring the tune “Kafari” from Sigur Rós. All proceeds for the album will benefit The Valerie Fund, helping children with serious health problems pay for health care.

In related news, Coachella didn’t take long adding a name to their lineup: Sigur Rós’ Jonsi. This will likely be in support of his solo album, Go, which is expected to be released at the end of March. He will appear at the polo fields on an already crowded Sunday.

Sing Me to Sleep Tracklist (alphabetical):
Asleep (Smiths) – Stars
Boys Of Summer (Don Henley) – Papercuts
Can’t Get It Out Of My Head (ELO) – Telekinesis
Cloudbusting (Kate Bush) – Neil Halstead
Dear Prudence (Beatles) – Casey Mecija (Ohbijou)
Dream A Little Dream Of Me (Traditional) – Dala
Edelweiss (The Sound of Music) – Laura Gibson
Gymnopédie No. 1 (Erik Satie) – Coctails
Have You Forgotten (Red House Painters) – Jenny Owen Youngs
Inchworm (Hans Christian Andersen) – The Leisure Society
Kafari (Original) – Sigur Rós [bonus 7” vinyl only]
Kiss Off (Violent Femmes) – Say Hi
Little Boxes (Malvina Reynolds) – The Real Tuesday Weld
Making Me Smile (Jack Early) – Dean & Britta
Moon River (Breakfast at Tiffany’s) – Tanya Donelly
Moon River (Breakfast at Tiffany’s) “Blue Mix” – Tanya Donelly [bonus 7” vinyl only]
Pure Imagination (Willy Wonka & the Chocolate Factory) – The Rest
Rainbow Connection (The Muppet Movie) – Trespassers William
Strings That Tie To You (Jon Brion) – Julie Peel with Field Mouse & Hailey Wojcik
The North Wind Doth Blow (Traditional) – Snowbird
The Sounds Of Silence (Simon & Garfunkel) – The Abbasi Brothers
You And Your Sister (This Mortal Coil) – O+S
You Are My Sunshine (Traditional) – Peter Broderick

Pre-order it here.


Follow Consequence