Starbucks compilation features Spoon, Jose Gonzalez, and The Shins’ singer

Valentine season is coming up, and now thanks to Starbucks, the type of listener who actually purchases CD’s from Starbucks has the ideal sort-of-hip soundtrack to mark the occasion. The third edition of Hear Music‘s Sweetheart series is out today, and features indie covers of love songs ranging from ZZ Top to Kylie Minogue (via Pitchfork).

Some notables: Folk singer/songwriter Jose Gonzalez kicks off the album with a cover of Minogue’s “Hand on Your Heart”, Mates of State tackle Tom Waits’ “Long Way Home”, and James Mercer (The Shins fame) and brother Robert cover Bob Dylan’s “Spanish Harlem Incident”. The album also features covers of songs by Paul McCartney, Paul Davis, The Zombies, and Daniel Johnston.

You can download the album on iTunes right now. See the tracklist below:

Sweetheart 2010 Tracklist:
01. Jose Gonzalez – Hand on Your Heart (Kylie Minogue cover)
02. Grand Archives – Cupid (Sam Cooke cover)
03. James Mercer & Robert Mercer – Spanish Harlem Incident (Bob Dylan cover)
04. Spoon – Love Song (The Damned cover)
05. Elvis Perkins – Teneme en Tu Corazon (Keep Me in Your Heart) (traditional)
06. The Long Winters – Give Me All Your Lovin‘ (ZZ Top cover)
07. Yo La Tengo – You Make Me Feel Good (The Zombies cover)
08. Céu – Eu Amo Você (I Love You) (Tim Maia cover)
09. Diane Birch – I Go Crazy (Paul Davis cover)
10. Jason Collett and Zeus – Every Night (Paul McCartney cover)
11. The Avett Brothers – I Love (Tom T. Hall cover)
12. Mates of State – Long Way Home (Tom Waits cover)
13. Angelique Kidjo – Ne Me Quitte Pas (If You Go Away) (Jacques Brel cover)
14. Hey Marseilles – True Love Will Find You in the End (Daniel Johnston cover)


Follow Consequence