Iggy and the Stooges reissue Raw Power, rarities galore

placeholder image

Agree or disagree, but Iggy and the Stooges‘ 1973 landmark album, Raw Power, is the most concise and true-to-its-name album in rock ‘n’ roll history. Everything about it just oozes of greatness; from the iconic album cover that sports a dolled up (and drugged out) Iggy to the rough neck production qualities that chisel the teeth in grime and grit. If you don’t believe any of this, just listen to the opening notes of “Search and Destroy” and then come back and try to argue otherwise.

Needless to say, a reissue has us pretty psyched — especially one that’s fully loaded with remasters, rarities, live performances, and even a DVD to enjoy. Columbia/Legacy will release two versions, the Legacy Edition and the Deluxe Edition. If you’re wondering which one to get, the choice is pretty simple. The former is two discs: the original album remastered (featuring David Bowie’s original mix) on one, along with a second disc titled Georgia Peaches, which includes a rare bootlegged live recording from the band’s performance in Atlanta sometime 1973, in addition to two previously unreleased bonus tracks (a studio outtake “Doojiman” and a studio rehearsal performance of “Head On”). The Legacy Edition will also include a 24-page booklet stuffed with band essays and a few quotes from surviving members.

The latter — the Deluxe Edition — includes all of that… and more. In addition to the aforementioned two discs, buyers will also receive a third titled, Rarities, Outtakes, & Alternates From the Raw Power Era. That’s stuffed with eight tracks, five of which have never seen the light of day. But wait, that’s not all. (I feel like this could have been narrated by Phil Hartman.) There’s also a fourth disc! This one’s a DVD that features a 30 minute documentary surrounding the making of the legendary album.

Wait, don’t go just yet! We’re not finished. There’s just a few more goodies to kick around. Along with the above, the set will also include a rare Japanese picture sleeve 7″ single of “Raw Power” and “Search and Destroy” (reproduced, of course), five 5×7 photo prints, and a 7″ softcover booklet that shares essays by Henry Rollins, Lou Reed, Joan Jett, Tom Morello, and probably a few others to tell you what we said before: “This album is life.”

So, what makes sense to snag? We thought you’d agree, too.

FYI: The Legacy Edition hits shelves on April 13th, while the Deluxe Edition arrives a couple weeks later on the 27th. Save now, spend wisely.

Raw Power (Deluxe Edition) tracklist:
CD1 (Raw Power):
01. Search and Destroy
02. Gimme Danger
03. Your Pretty Face Is Going to Hell
04. Penetration
05. Raw Power
06. I Need Somebody
07. Shake Appeal
08. Death Trip

CD2 (Georgia Peaches):
01. Introduction *
02. Raw Power *
03. Head On *
04. Gimme Danger *
05. Search and Destroy *
06. I Need Somebody *
07. Heavy Liquid *
08. Cock in My Pocket *
09. Open Up and Bleed *
10. Doojiman (outtake) *
11. Head On (CBS Studio rehearsal performance) *

CD3 (Rarities, Outtakes, & Alternates From the Raw Power Era):
01. I’m Hungry (outtake) *
02. I Got a Right (outtake) *
03. I’m Sick of You (outtake)
04. Hey, Peter (out­take) *
05. Shake Appeal (alternate mix version) *
06. Death Trip (alternate mix version) *
07. Gimme Danger (alternate mix from the 1996 Iggy “violent” remixes)
08. Your Pretty Face Is Going to Hell (alternate mix from the 1996 Iggy “violent” remixes)

The Making of Raw Power

* previously unreleased