Jakob Dylan likes his Women and Country

placeholder image

Remember in the late ’90s when all you could hear on the radio was Duncan Sheik’s “Barely Breathing” or The Wallflower’s “One Headlight”? Jakob Dylan probably does, though if his recent work is any indication, he’s trying desperately to move forward. On April 6th, Dylan releases Women and Country, his sophomore follow-up to his 2008 debut solo album, Seeing Things.

Things are looking pretty for this second outing as Dylan paired himself up with Grammy and Golden Globe winning producer T Bone Burnett, who worked on The Wallflowers’ 1996 critical and commercial smash, Bringing Down the Horse. What’s more, Dylan will also be sharing vocals with indie queen Neko Case and singer-songwriter Kelly Hogan on eight out of the 11 tracks. In terms of sound, Women and Country picks up where Seeing Things left off, continuing Dylan’s journey through America’s country and blues roots. Let’s just say he’s had quite the mentor to assist him in that journey, huh?

Mark those calendars, Women and Country arrives April 6th via Columbia Records. In support of the release, Dylan will hit the road on a nationwide tour, so expect dates in the near, near future.

Of course we’ll post ’em for you.

Women and Country tracklist:
01. Nothing But The Whole Wide World
02. Down On Our Shield
03. Lend A Hand
04. We Don’t Live Here Anymore
05. Everybody’s Hurting
06. Yonder Come the Blues
07. Holy Rollers for Love
08. Truth For A Truth
09. They’ve Trapped US Boys
10. Smile When You Call Me That
11. Standing Eight Count