LCD Soundsystem’s James Murphy details Greenberg soundtrack

In addition to a new LCD Soudsystem album, European tour, and a newly announced appearance at the Pitchfork Music Festival, the electro genius known as James Murphy is also making news for his contributions to the silver screen. On March 22nd (via Parlophone Records), Murphy will unveil his debut film score, this for the new Noah Baumbach-directed and Ben Stiller-starring film called Greenberg.

As previously reported, the score will feature “new music” from the Murphy, including 11 solo tracks. His main outfit also makes an appearance with a song titled “Oh You (Christmas Blues)”. “It’s specifically created score showcases the versatility of Murphy’s musical craftsmanship with some of his most emotive, warm, introspective and stark music to date. It precedes the release of his forthcoming third LCD Soundsystem album later this spring and features only one new LCD Soundsystem track,” an issued press release notes.

The Strokes’ Albert Hammond, Sonics, Duran Duran, Galaxie 500, Nite Jewel, and The Steve Miller Band also made contributions to the score.

The film itself is due for release on March 26th. The Playlist has new still images here; trailer below.

Greenberg Soundtrack Tracklist:
01. The Steve Miller Band – ‘Jet Airliner’
02. Nite Jewel – ‘Suburbia’
03. James Murphy – ‘Sleepy Baby’
04. James Murphy – ‘Thumbs’
05. Albert Hammond – ‘It Never Rains In Southern California’
06. James Murphy – ‘Plenty Of Time’
07. James Murphy – ‘Photographs’
08. James Murphy – ‘Gente’
09. Galaxie 500 – ‘Strange’
10. LCD Soundsystem – ‘Oh You (Christmas Blues)’
11. James Murphy – ‘Birthday Song’
12. James Murphy – ‘Dear You’
13. Sonics – ‘Shot Down’
14. Duran Duran – ‘The Chauffeur’
15. James Murphy – ‘If You Need A Friend’
16. James Murphy – ‘Please Don’t Follow Me’
17. James Murphy – ‘Photographs (Piano)’


Follow Consequence