MGMT details Congratulations

placeholder image

Since basically the summer, the music world has been eagerly awaiting MGMT‘s sophomore studio effort. Over that span, they ramped up that anticipation by teasing festival-goers with news songs, describing the material by saying “sometimes it just doesn’t feel natural,” and having Spacemen 3’s Peter “Sonic Boom” Kember produce it. Even if you hate “Kids”, though we don’t know why you would, it’s hard not to be intrigued by what duo of Andrew James VanWyngarden and Ben Martin Goldwasser have up their sleeve.

As announced today (via Spin), all this hype will come to fruition on April 13th when MGMT offers the nine-track Congratulations. VanWyngarden, Goldwasser, and Kember recorded the album with bassist Matt Asti, drummer Will Berman, and bassist James Richardson (all of whom are members of MGMT’s live backing ensemble) as well Royal Trux frontwoman Jennifer Herrema in Upstate, NY, Brooklyn, and Malibu, CA.

“It’s definitely going to shock people,” Vanwyngarden told Spin of the new album’s sound. “We dropped any sort of irony that was on the first record, and Congratulations feels true to who we really are.”

He went on to note that the album’s nine tracks, which includes the incredibly titled track “Brian Eno”, are “sequenced to flow with sonic and thematic coherence.” Basically, we’ll be surfing, as that will be the “unifying influence” on the album, Vanwyngarden explains.

“There’s a surfing thread throughout the record,” he explained, citing specifically a song called “It’s Working.” “When you’re surfing, there’s a specific break you’re paddling to. And when the waves are really good you say, ‘It’s working.’ The song kind of has a surf-y vibe. It’s like surfing on ecstasy!”

Other tracks on the album include a 12-minute-long track titled “Siberian Breaks”, which features a theme about surfing in the Arctic Circle by Russia, and the “very nightmare-ish sounding”, Lady Gaga-inspired “Lady Dada’s Nightmare”. You really can’t make this stuff up.

Congratulations will be released on April 13th via Sony/Columbia. A U.S. tour in support of the album will be announced soon. So far, the band is confirmed to appear at Coachella and Bamboozle this Spring.

Congratulations Tracklist:
01. It’s Working
02. Song for Dan Treacy
03. Someone’s Missing
04. Flash Delirium
05. I Found a Whistle
06. Siberian Breaks
07. Brian Eno
08. Lady Dada’s Nightmare
09. Congratulations

Leave a comment