Paul Weller to Wake Up The Nation

placeholder image

While he won’t reunite The Jam (aw, shucks), Paul Weller continues to expand on his successful solo career. Following up 2008’s delectable 22 Dreams, Weller returns this April with Wake Up The Nation, a new studio album that’s stuffed with, count ’em, 16 tracks that should whet all our appetites. Oh, but wait ’til you hear who else is involved.

It’s not a full reunion per se, but Weller did tag former Jam bassist Bruce Foxton for two tracks, which is just one of many highlights here. In addition to Foxton, Weller will be joined by My Bloody Valentine’s Kevin Shields, The Move’s Bev Bevan, and acclaimed session drummer Clem Cattini. If there’s a just god up there, the Weller/Shields collaboration will be “Two Fat Ladies”, sporting two fat guitar lines that ache on and on for 20 nonsensical minutes… but alas, wishful thinking of course.

As for touring duties, Weller already has a busy summer ahead of him, starting with five sold-out nights at the Royal Albert Hall this May. As always, fingers crossed for more dates, or perhaps some spots at — dare we say — Bonnaroo, Lollapalooza, or Outside Lands Festival? Again, more wishful thinking.

One thing’s for certain, though; Wake Up The Nation arrives April 12th via Island Records, and the double-sided single of “Wake Up The Nation” and “No Tears To Cry” surfaces a week earlier on April 5th. Don’t forget your fedoras!

Wake Up The Nation tracklist:
01. Moonshine
02. Wake Up The Nation
03. No Tears To Cry
04. Fast Car/Slow Traffic
05. Andromeda
06. In Amsterdam
07. She Speaks
08. Find The Torch, Burn The Plans
09. Aim High
10. Trees
11. Grasp and Still Connect
12. Whatever Next
13. 7& 3 Is The Strikers Name
14. Up The Dosage
15. Pieces of a Dream
16. Two Fat Ladies