Liars announce new single, embark on US tour

It’s been a busy week for the experimental noise rock band Liars. This week saw the release of their fifth studio album Sisterworld, including a two-disc version, and now they’re readying the release of a new single, titled “ The Overachievers”. Next week’s just as crazy with special SXSW appearances to kick up some dust. The pay off’s been great, though. In the last few days, Sisterworld has already been met with extensive critical praise, proving itself as a highly technical and dense art-pop experience from beginning to end. But, let’s start with the upcoming single.

“The Overachievers” will be released as a separate single on May 25th along with a remix of the tune by Devendra Banhart and two brand new B-sides entitled “Pleasure Is Boss” and “Only Sometimes”. As we mentioned earlier, Sisterworld was released with two different versions, the latter which is the obvious choice for any fan, as it includes a bonus reinterpretation disc of the entire album by an impressive list of artists: Thom Yorke, Melvins, TV on the Radio, Alan Vega, Atlas Sound, and Blonde Redhead. The special edition also showcases some mighty unique surrealistic packaging, designed by Brian Roettinger/Hand Held Heart, which allows each buyer to catch a glimpse of the Sisterworld concertina.

And if that got you excited, then wait until you hear the details of their SXSW appearance this year! Set for two unique performances on Thursday and Friday, Liars plan to debut completely all new and never-before-heard material as a five-piece band. However, for the upcoming spring U.S. tour, the band will also add Samuel Bing and Alex Myrvold (from Fol Chen) to the mix. Look below for more details and don’t forget about Sisterworld’s upcoming deluxe vinyl release on April 6th which will include both the original record and its reinterpretations.

The Overachievers Tracklist:
01. The Overachievers
02. Pleasure Is Boss
03. Only Sometimes
04. The Overachievers ­(Devendra Banhart Remix )

Sisterworld – Reinterpretations Tracklist:
01. Scissor – By Pink Dollaz, Lance Whitaker & Transformation Surprise
02. No Barrier Fun – By Duetonal (Alan Vega / Suicide)
03. Here Comes All The People – By Atlas Sound (Bradford Cox)
04. Drip – By Kazu Makino (Blonde Redhead)
05. Scarecrows On A Killer Slant – By Tunde Adebimpe (TV On The Radio)
06. I Still Can See An Outside World – By Boyd Rice (NON)
07. Proud Evolution – Thom Yorke 500qd Remix
08. Drop Dead – By Fol Chen
09. The Overachievers – By Devendra Banhart & The Grogs
10. Goodnight Everything – By Melvins
11. Too Much, Too Much – By Carter Tutti (Throbbing Gristle)

Liars 2010 Tour Dates:
04/10 – Los Angeles, CA @ El Rey Theatre
04/14- Washington, DC @ Rock & Roll Hotel
04/15 – New York City, NY @ Bowery Ballroom
04/16 – Philadelphia, PA @ First Unitarian Church
04/17 – Boston, MA @ Paradise
04/18 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
04/27 – San Francisco, CA @ Slim’s
04/29 – Portland, OR @ Hawthorne Theatre
04/30 – Vancouver, BC @ Venue
05/01 – Seattle, WA @ Neumos


Follow Consequence