The Gaslight Anthem digress on American Slang


At first, The Gaslight Anthem seemed obnoxious. Who were these Springsteen rip-off artists? Why were they writing about places The Boss visited three decades their senior? What was the point? But with time, and considering “The ’59 Sound” or “Old White Lincoln” couldn’t leave my head, the New Jersey rock act became an instant favorite. That’s why it’s exciting they’re returning this year with American Slang.

You already know this, though. But you probably didn’t know that the new effort has a release date, a tracklist, and a single, too! That’s a lot of news to take in, so we’ll let it sink in for a moment.

Due out June 15th, which gives you little time to learn the damn thing before the band’s Bonnaroo appearance, American Slang brings back all the great qualities that made 2008’s The ’59 Sound so memorable. Producer Ted Hutt returns, and the band’s hardly shying away from its stories. As the press release notes, “Tracks such as “Bring It On”, “Orphans”, and “Stay Lucky” bristle and burn with the spirit of soul and the artistic adventurousness and impressive confidence of a band that has come into its own and found its own voice.” If the titular new single is any indication, we’re bound to be impressed.

You can listen to it here.

American Slang Tracklist:
01. American Slang
02. Stay Lucky
03. Bring It On
04. The Diamond Church Street Choir
05. The Queen of Lower Chelsea
06. Orphans
07. Boxer
08. Old Haunts
09. The Spirit Of Jazz
10. We Did It When We Were Young