Isaac Brock, James Mercer contributes to Patagonia doc

The latest and great movie soundtrack to feature our favorite indie musicians will come in the form of 180° South, a forthcoming Chris Malloy-directed documentary about adventurers in Patagonia.

Modest Mouse frontman Isaac Brock’s side-project Ugly Casanova contributed eight songs to the film’s soundtrack while Shins/Broken Bells leader James Mercer shares two, one of which is a cover of Neil Young’s “Journey Through the Past”. Jack Johnson!, Love as Laughter, and Mason Jennings will also be heard on the soundtrack when it sees release on June 22nd via Brushfire.

According to a press release (via P4k), 180° South “retraces Yvon Chouinard’s and Doug Tompkins’ epic 1968 journey to Patagonia through the eyes of adventurer Jeff Johnson.” In addition, the film also involves efforts to protect Patagonia from development.

You can watch the film’s trailer below. Screenings are scheduled to take place in San Diego, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Minneapolis, Austin, and Asheville between April and July.

180° South Tracklist:
01. Ugly Casanova – “Mountains of Storms”
02. Ugly Casanova – “Here’s to Now”
03. Mason Jennings – “Machines”
04. James Mercer – “Doug’s Theme”
05. Ugly Casanova – “Wave Goodbye”
06. Ugly Casanova – “Lonesome Blues”
07. James Mercer – “Journey Through the Past”
08. Ugly Casanova – “Hotcha Girls”
09. Jack Johnson – “Spring Wind”
10. Ugly Casanova – “Maybe We’re Lost”
11. Ugly Casanova- “Corcovado”
12. Love as Laughter – “Coconut Flakes”
13. Ugly Casanova – “The Geezer”
14. Ugly Casanova – “Lay Me Down”


Follow Consequence