MGMT, Duran Duran-featuring Bowie tribute due out in September

Way back in January, the 2nd to be exact, Manimal Records kicked off the New Year with a bang by announcing plans for an absurdly awesome David Bowie tribute album. If you remember, the effort was to feature the likes of MGMT, Duran Duran, A Place to Bury Strangers, Megapuss, ex-Chili Pepper John Frusciante, and the French First Lady, Carla Bruni, covering the legendary musician, with all the profits going to War Child UK — a branch of an international charity for children affected by war.

It had been a while since we heard any details on the release, so we decided to do a quick Google search. We quickly stumbled upon a recent press release posted on the Duran Duran’s website and here’s what we learned. The release, titled Repetition – A Tribute to David Bowie, is now scheduled for release on September 6th as a two-disc set, available as a limited CD, limited double LP, and download with bonus tracks.

An updated tracklisting features a couple significant changes from the original. For one, Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeroes and Jessica 6 are now included, while Soulwax and Marco Benevento are nowhere to be found (perhaps they’ll be included in the bonus tracks?). Also, MGMT, which previously had a TBA for its contribution, is now listed as the authors behind a rendition of Bowie’s 1976 single “TVC 16”.

For those looking to ensure that they’ll get a physical copy, Manimal is now accepting pre-orders. Find the album art to your top right and complete tracklist below.

Repetition – A Tribute to David Bowie Tracklist:
Disc 1:
01. Exitmusic – “Space Oddity”
02. Duran Duran – “Boys Keep Swinging”
03. Megapuss (Devendra Banhart) – “Sound + Vision” (en espanol)
04. Warpaint – “Ashes to Ashes”
05. Charlift – “Always Crashing in the Same Car”
06. A Place to Bury Strangers – “Suffragette City”
07. All Leather – “Fame”
08. We Are The World – “Afraid of Americans”
09. Carla Bruni – “Absolute Beginners”
10. VOICEsVOICEs – “Heroes”
11. Corridor – “Be My Wife”
12. Vivian Girls – “John, I’m Only Dancing”
13. Lights – “World Falls Down”
14. Keren Ann – “Life on Mars”
15. Genuflex – “Soul Love”
16. Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeroes – “Memory of a Free Festival”

Disc 2:
01. MGMT – “TVC 15”
02. Aska & Bobby Evans (feat. Moon & Moon) – “African Night Flight”
03. Tearist – “Repetition”
04. The Polyamorous Affair – “Theme From Cat People”
05. Halloween Swim Team – “Look Back in Anger”
06. Jessica 6 – “I’m Deranged”
07. Rainbow Arabia – “Quicksand”
08. Swahili Blonde (feat. John Frusciante) – “Red Money”
09. Aquaserge – “The Superman”
10. Sister Crayon – “The Bewlay Brothers”
11. Lewis & Clarke – “Changes”
12. Mechanical Bride – “Sound + Vision”
13. Zaza – “It Ain’t Easy”
14. Ariana Delawari – “Ziggy Stardust”
15. Mick Karn – “Ashes to Ashes”
16. Xu Xu Fang – “China Girl”


Follow Consequence