My Morning Jacket, Conor Oberst team up for John Prine tribute


Given that 2010 looks to be the year of the tribute album (e.g., Bowie & Silverstein) it seems only appropriate that one of America’s most acclaimed singer/songwriters will be getting his own this summer. On June 22nd, Oh Boy Records will pay homage to John Prine with the release of Broken Hearts And Dirty Windows: Songs Of John Prine. The 12-track features cover versions of Prine’s song by a slew of musical heavweights, including My Morning Jacket, Conor Oberst And The Mystic Valley Band, Drive-By Truckers, Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon, Josh Ritter, The Avett Brothers, Deer Tick, Lambchop, and Justin Townes Earle.

Check out the complete tracklist below. NPR previewed Vernon’s contribution, a cover of “Bruised Orange (Chain Of Sorrow)”, during its recent Spring Music Preview.

Broken Hearts & Dirty Windows: Songs Of John Prine Tracklist:
01. Justin Vernon of Bon Iver – Bruised Orange (Chain Of Sorrow)
02. Conor Oberst And The Mystic Valley Band – Wedding Day In Funeralville
03. My Morning Jacket – All The Best
04. Josh Ritter – Mexican Home
05. Lambchop – Six O’Clock News
06. Justin Townes Earle – Far From Me
07. The Avett Brothers – Spanish Pipedream
08. Old Crow Medicine Show – Angel From Montgomery
09. Sara Watkins – The Late John Garfield Blues
10. Drive-By Truckers – Daddy’s Little Pumpkin
11. Deer Tick featuring Liz Isenberg – Unwed Fathers
12. Those Darlins – Let’s Talk Dirty In Hawaiian