Scissor Sisters gears up for Night Work

The Scissor Sisters have been away for a few years now. Their previous record, Ta-Dah, came out in 2006 and there have been no major releases of any kind since 2007. Needless to say, this sentence is long overdue: the Scissor Sisters have a new album coming out! Night Work, the New York outfit’s third LP will be released on June 28th, preceded by the lead single, “Fire With Fire”, on June 20th.

Recording Night Work was a somewhat new experience for the band, as the Sisters worked with an outside producer for the first time. That man was none other than Stuart Price, who’s known for his work with Madonna, The Killers, and New Order. That said, the collaboration isn’t the first time the two artists have been in each other’s hemisphere. Scissor Sisters opened for Price’s band, Zoot Woman, back in 2004 on their first UK tour. Small world.

So what can fans expect? You’ll find the usual techno grooves the band is known for, but it isn’t only electronica. “Night Work is really us boiled down to who we are. It feels quintessentially us,” explained vocalist Jake Shears.

Oh yeah, and according to Entertainment Weekly, also expect a spoken word part from Sir Ian McKellen!

If you can’t wait until June, the album’s closing track, “Invisible Light”, can be heard below.

Night Work Tracklist:
01. Night Work
02. Whole New Way
03. Fire With Fire
04. Any Which Way
05. Harder You Get
06. Running Out
07. Something Like This
08. Skin This Cat
09. Skin Tight
10. Sex and Violence
11. Night Life
12. Invisible Light


Follow Consequence