2010 Polaris Prize nominees announced


A lot of jokes involve Canada (and we’ve perpetuated a lot of those stereotypes here at CoS). But if there’s one thing our neighbors to the north do well, it’s honor their best and brightest musicians with the Polaris Prize. And that they’ll do come September 20th in Toronto. As of now, however, 40 acts and their must-hear albums have been announced, but that list will get leaner by next month.

According to the Montreal Gazette, the 2010 award honors albums released from June 1st, 2009 to May 31st, 2010. The prize, whose potential winners are chosen by 200 Canadian music critics, went to Fucked Up last year. But it’s not just a fancy, schmancy award. Along with bragging rights, the winners receive a big fat check for $20,000. (Probably more money they’d make otherwise on the actual album.) Pretty sweet deal, all in all.

You can take a peek at the 40 nominees below. Just from a quick glance, stand outs include: The Besnard Lakes, Broken Social Scene, Caribou (who won in 2008), Frog Eyes, Owen Pallet (who won in 2006), The New Pornographers, Tegan & Sara, You Say Party! We Say Die!, and Zeus.

As always, stay tuned to for the shortlist and the eventual winner.

2010 Polaris Prize Nominees:
01. Apollo Ghosts – Mount Benson
02. Bahamas – Pink Strat
03. The Besnard Lakes – The Besnard Lakes Are The Roaring Night
04. Blue Rodeo – The Things We Left Behind
05. Brasstronaut – Mt. Chimaera
06. Broken Social Scene – Forgiveness Rock Record
07. Basia Bulat – Heart Of My Own
08. By Divine Right – Mutant Message
09. Caribou – Swim
10. Jason Collett – Rat A Tat Tat
11. Crystal Castles – Crystal Castles (II)
12. Amelia Curran – Hunter, Hunter
13. Fred Fortin – Plastrer La Lune
14. Frog Eyes – Paul’s Tomb: A Triumph
15. Hannah Georgas – This Is Good
16. Ghostkeeper – Ghostkeeper
17. Holy Fuck – Latin
18. Karkwa – Les Chemins De Verre
19. LeE HARVeY OsMOND – A Quiet Evil
20. Greg MacPherson – Mr. Invitation
21. Dan Mangan – Nice, Nice, Very Nice
22. Misteur Valaire – Golden Bombay
23. The New Pornographers – Together
24. Owen Pallett – Heartland
25. Plants And Animals – La La Land
26. Radio Radio – Belmundo Regal
27. Justin Rutledge – The Early Widows
28. The Sadies – Darker Circles
29. Shad – TSOL
30. Elizabeth Shepherd – Heavy Falls The Night
31. The Slew – 100%
32. Meaghan Smith – The Cricket’s Orchestra
33. South Rakkas Crew – The Stimulus Package
34. Tegan And Sara – Sainthood
35. The Wooden Sky – If I Don’t Come Home You’ll Know I’m Gone
36. Hawksley Workman – Meat
37. You Say Party! We Say Die! – XXXX
38. Young Galaxy- Invisible Republic
39.Yukon Blonde – Yukon Blonde
40. Zeus – Say Us