Edwyn Collins recovers with star-studded release

Nothing grabs fans’ attentions like celebrated reunions or comebacks. During festival season we all spend a significant amount of time speculating on the end of a long hiatus; the debates often more lively than the actual reunion performances. Considering 2010 has already seen a number of  memorable comebacks, the upcoming release by Edwyn Collins may still be the most unexpected.

After suffering a double brain hemorrhage in 2005, Collins would need to make significant recoveries until he possessed the skills to write new material and perform live. Defying doctors’ expectations, Collins has regained the ability to write, walk, and sing. And is doing so with some amazing friends.

After spending two years in his own West Heath Studios with long-time collaborator Sebastian Lewsley, Collins and Heavenly Recordings will release Losing Sleep on September 13th. The 12 track album features The Cribs’ Ryan Jarman and Johnny Marr (“What is My Role”), Franz Ferdinand’s Alex Kapranos and Nick McCarthy (“Do it Again”), and The Drums with Aztec Camera singer Roddy Frame (“Losing Sleep”). Several other long-time friends will join Collins across the rest of the tracks; a complete track listing follows.

Collins also announced three live European events during the next couple months where he will be debuting the material. To those across the pond, definitely a a tinge of jealousy coming your way — check out the dates below.

Losing Sleep track listing:
01. Losing Sleep
02. What Is My Role?
03. Do It Again
04. Humble
05. Bored
06. In Your Eyes
07. I Still Believe In You
08. Come Tomorrow, Come Today
09. It Dawns On Me
10. Over The Hill
11. All My Days
12. Searching For The Truth

Edwyn Collins tour dates:
08/15 – Inverness Shire, UK @ Inversness Book Festival
09/10 – Larmer Tree Gardens, North Dorset, UK @ End of the Road Festival
09/23 – London, UK @ Queen Elizabeth Hall


Follow Consequence