Mavis Staples returns with Jeff Tweedy-produced album

Just in case the release of a new album by gospel legend Mavis Staples isn’t enough peak your interest, the fact that Jeff Tweedy is producing should get your attention. On September 14th, Staples will return with You Are Not Alone, her first record in three years.

Tweedy certainly had a big role in the creation of Staples’ follow-up to 2007’s We’ll Never Turn Back. The album was recorded in Wilco’s studio, The Loft, and the guitarist wrote two new tracks to add to her unique interpretations of songs by Pops Staples, Randy Newman, Allen Toussaint, John Fogerty, Rev. Gary Davis, and Little Milton.

The album features the music of Staples’ backing band, along with a plethora of special guests, including Wilco’s Patrick Sansone on keys & vibes, Mark Greenberg on vibes & keys, Neko Case collaborators Kelly Hogan and Nora O’Connor on backing vocals, and Richard Parenti. Tweedy himself can also be heard on guitar, bass, and vocals.

Staples has been enjoying a late career revival these past few years. She’s been a regular at music festivals and will continue that streak with appearances at Lollapalooza and the Wilco-curated Solid Sound Festival at Mass MoCa on August 14th.

You Are Not Alone Tracklist:
01. You Don’t Knock
02. You Are Not Alone
03. Downward Road
04. In Christ There is No East and West
05. Creep Along, Moses
06. Losing You
07. I Belong to the Band
08. Last Train
09. Only the Lord Knows
10. Wrote A Song for Everyone
11. We’re Gonna Make It
12. Wonderful Savior
13. Too Close To Heaven / I’m On My Way to Heaven Anyhow


Follow Consequence