Pete Yorn teams up with producer Frank Black for new album

The last time we heard from Pete Yorn, he was making beautiful music with Scarlett Johansson. For his sixth album, he’s decided to once again work with someone of note. Where Break Up had the husky sex appeal of Johansson, his forthcoming self-titled album will production work by the husky awesomeness of Pixies frontman Frank Black.

The album actually came about rather quickly in the summer of 2008, after Black e-mailed Yorn suggesting they work together. Not one to pass down amazing opportunities, Yorn headed out to Salem, OR for five days of recording. Despite getting sick just two days in, Yorn was hell-bent on making a raw and rocking effort to follow up his Serge Gainsbourg and Brigitte Bardot tribute album. The end result, according to Black, redefines Yorn and gives the listener a deeper insight into the life and times of the singer-songwriter.

“We battled in the best sort of way,” Black said. “I tried to get the session into a fearless and raw place, and to his artistic credit Pete took his songwriting to a fearless and raw place. This listener will find his or herself sitting right next to Pete on the couch. And the record totally rocks out.”

Pete Yorn will hit stores September 28th via Vagrant Records. Stay tuned for Yorn’s fall 2010 tour dates as soon as they’re announced.

Pete Yorn Tracklist:
01. Precious Stone
02. Rock Crowd
03. Velcro Shoes
04. Paradise Cove I
05. Badman
06. The Chase
07. Sans Fear
08. Always
09. Stronger than
10. Future Life
11. Wheels


Follow Consequence