Women announce second album, Public Strain


As it turns out, Women aren’t actually girls; they’re dudes. And on top of that, they’re Canadian. But with a sound once described as “sunny Beach Boys pop… dragged into a dark alley and gleefully mutilated”, we can forgive the lies and misdirection and happily announce the band’s second album, Public Strain.

Like Women’s self-titled debut, Public Strain was produced by Chad VanGaalen in his Calgary studio. However, that does not mean everything else remained the same.

“It’s definitely a different feeling album, and I’d say it’s a bit heavier in a way,” explained guitarist Chris Reimer (via Exclaim).

The record will see receive its international release via Jagjaguwar on August 23rd. The US and Canada will get dibs on September 28th via Flemish Eye. The artwork is to your above right; tracklist below.

Women are also known for their pretty extensive touring, playing some 180 dates between 2008-2009. This is on top of playing as part of VanGaalen’s backing band and having members Michael Wallace and Christopher Reimer playing in Azeda Booth. That said, aside from appearance at this summer’s NXNE and Sled Island music festivals, no new tour dates have been announced yet. So stay tuned.

Public Strain Tracklist:
01. Can’t You See
02. Heat Distraction
03. Narrow With the Hall
04. Penal Colony
05. Bells
06. China Steps
07. Untogether
08. Drag Open
09. Locust Valley
10. Venice Lockjaw
11. Eyesore

Leave a comment