Cursive frontman Tim Kasher readies The Game of Monogamy

Though primarily known for his work with rock outfits Cursive and The Good Life, Tim Kasher can now call himself a solo artist. After all, the Omaha native recently announced that he’ll be releasing his debut solo album later this year.

The 11-track record, entitled The Game of Monogamy, was recorded in Whitefish, MT, this past January and is the first album Kasher has written, recorded, and produced under his own name.

The record promises to serve as a unique installment in Kasher’s career, harboring a focus on classical arrangements played by members of the Glacier National Symphony and centering its focus inside a 1950s-esque conservative atmosphere. Its title says it all, as The Game of Monogamy is essentially a moody pop record (you can guess what about) with Kasher leading his audience on an emotional rollercoaster through sexual plight and frustration.

Ornamented with strings, trombone, and the like, The Game of Monogamy plays with the idea that romance isn’t all that it’s made out to be while simultaneously building a platform for a dilemma that has remained thoroughly modern throughout the last half of a century. Now that’s some pretty heavy shit right there.

Filled with theatrical arrangements and lush instrumentation, The Game of Monogamy also has a few guest appearances including fellow Cursive bandmates Patrick New Berry (adding a bit of flair with some trumpet/keys) and Matt Maginn (lending a few drum and bass beats). And even his friend Erin Tate (of Minus the Bear) makes an appearance on the album by aiding Maginn on a few drum and bass arrangements!

In other news, Kasher will be headlining a show on July 27th at the Tonic Room in Chicago, IL, where he will debut some material from the new album with his backing band (which has remained anonymous at this time).

Below is a full tracklist of The Game of Monogamy.  The album hits stores October 5th via Saddle Creek.

The Game Of Monogamy Tracklist:
01. Monogamy Overture
02. A Grown Man
03. I’m Afraid I’m Gonna Die Here
04. Strays
05. Cold Love
06. Surprise, Surprise
07. There Must Be Something I’ve Lost
08. Bad, Bad Dreams
09. No Fireworks
10. The Prodigal Husband
11. Monogamy


Follow Consequence