Jay-Z offers Green Lantern-produced mixtape

It probably goes without saying that his collaboration with Jack White is the next Jay-Z related release we really would like to surface. He’s also got a greatest hits album and a still uncompleted? single with Dr. Dre on tap.

But before he dishes out anything else, it appears the New York based hip-hop mogul will be focusing his attention on a mixtape now four years in the making. Now available for pre-order is Creative Control, a brand new 36 track compilation featuring remixes, live appearances, and never-before-heard music. James D’Agostino, better known as DJ Green Lantern, oversaw the mixtape’s production.

According to an issued press release, Hova and Lantern originally planned to drop a mixtape together in 2006. Titled Presidential Invasion, the effort was to a promotional mixtape created while the two were touring Africa and promoting Jay’s “The Diary of Jay-Z: Water for Life” conquest to aid African countries in the pursuit of clean water. Ultimately, it took four years and a name change before the duo’s collaboration materialized.

Creative Control is highlighted by a slew of guest spots, including 50 Cent, Lil Wayne, Mary J. Blige, Nas, Rihanna, and yes, 2Pac. Find the complete tracklist below and then place a pre-order — for just $2.99 — at mixunit.com.

Also, we’d be remiss not to use this opportunity to point to another new Hova related effort, this being his collaboration with Rick Ross and John Legend on “Free Mason”. The track comes from Ross’ forthcoming album Teflon Don. A SoundCloud stream follows:

Creative Control Tracklist:
01. Intro
02. Advantage Carter [Produced By Green Lantern]
03. Welcome 2 Atlanta V103 feat. Young Jeezy & DJ Greg Street
04. Jay’s Back ASAP
05. Live In London
06. Green Magic
07. Brooklyn Sound Boy
08. Child Abuse [Produced By Green Lantern]
09. Jay-Z Speaks On Green Lantern
10. Flashy Life
11. Got Me On My Shit [Produced By Green Lantern]
12. Pimp Stroll [Produced By Green Lantern] feat. Lil’ Wayne & Dante Hawkins
13. Conspiracy Theory Freestyle
14. Sweet [Produced By Green Lantern]
15. Only 1 Hov Accapella
16. Can’t Knock Da Hustle (Green Mix)
17. Good Old Days (Green Mix) feat. 2Pac & Styles P
18. Wishing On A Star (Green Mix) feat. 50 Cent, Freeway & N.O.R.E.
19. Who You With (Green Mix)
20. H.O.V.A. (Green Mix)
21. My Nigga Jigga (Green Mix)
22. Stuck In This Life (Green Mix)
23. This Shit Right Here (Live @ American Gangster Tour)
24. Dirt Off Ya Shoulder (Crunk Mix) feat. 50 Cent
25. Invasion Interlude
26. Home Of 9/11 [Produced By Green Lantern] feat. Cam’ron & Juelz Santana
27. Life Of Party [Produced By Green Lantern]
28. Jay-Z Speaks w/ Green Lantern & Greg Street
29. Heart Of The City feat. Dante Hawkins (Live From Dublin)
30. Beautiful Hustle feat. 2Pac & Mary J. Blige
31. Fronting (Green Mix) feat. Loyd Banks, Rah Digga & Memphis Bleek
32. Top Down [Produced By Green Lantern] – Memphis Bleek
33. Barack Obama Speaks On Hip Hop
34. Lick A Shot (Yes We Can)
35. We Run This feat. Lil’ Wayne & Rihanna
36. Marcy & They Shooting (Live In London) feat. Nas


Follow Consequence