Superchunk to reissue No Pocky For Kitty and On the Mouth this August

The tale end of 2010 is seemingly going to be the season of Superchunk. Between releasing a new album, entitled Majesty Shredding, in September and playing the Matador at 21 celebration in October, they’ve got enough news to make the fall their own private indie playground. Now you can add even more news as, according to Prefix Magazine, the band will reissue two of their classic albums the month before they unveil their first new album since 2001.

Said classics are their second and third album, No Pocky For Kitty and On the Mouth. The albums, released in 1991 and 1993 respectively, represent a time when Superchunk, through their own music and their label Merge, owned the indie music world and kept the seat of power in their hometown of Chapel Hill, NC. Of particular note is that Pocky was recorded over just a couple days in April 1991. Of course, On the Mouth also marks the debut of drummer Jon Wurster.

If you can’t wait for the two albums, which will be available on CD, vinyl, and as digital downloads, stream them now at Merge. No Pocky For Kitty and On the Mouth are due out August 17th. Majesty Shredding is due out September 14th. Tracklists and tour dates below, as per usual.

Superchunk 2010 Tour Dates:
07/24 – Omaha, NE @ MAHA Music Festival
09/17 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club
09/18 – New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom
09/19 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
09/21 – Boston, MA @ Royale
09/22 – Philadelphia, PA @ Trocadero
10/02 – Las Vegas, NV @ Matador At 21
10/13 – Vancouver, BC @ Venue
10/14 – Seattle, WA @ Showbox at the Market
10/15 – Portland, OR @ Wonder Ballroom
10/17 – San Francisco, CA @ Treasure Island Festival
10/19 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Music Box

No Pocky For Kitty Tracklist:
01. Skip Steps 1 & 3
02. Seed Toss
03. Cast Iron
04. Tower
05. Punch Me Harder
06. Sprung a Leak
07. 30 Xtra
08. Tie a Rope to the Back of the Bus
09. Press
10. Sidewalk
11. Creek
12. Throwing Things

On the Mouth Tracklist:
01. Precision Auto
02. From the Curve
03. For Tension
04. Mower
05. Package Thief
06. Swallow That
07. I Guess I Remembered It Wrong
08. New Low
09. Untied
10. The Question is How Fast
11. Trash Heap
12. Flawless
13. The Only Piece That You Get


Follow Consequence