Check Out: Three new Phil Selway songs

Just last week, we were pretty excited when No Age dropped not one but two songs from their upcoming LP. But like the veteran he is, Radiohead’s Phil Selway trumped the young noise punks by offering up even more songs from his upcoming solo debut, Familial. On top of the previously released “By Some Miracle”, Selway is now streaming three additional new songs on his website (you can check them out below, too). Anyone else want to go for previewing four songs at a time?

As the first new offering, “Beyond Reason” is a moody, folklorico ballad brimming with a kind of stunted disappointment vocally. “Broken Promises” is nearly as muted, but with the organ in the background and the song rising toward a climax from a slow, steady acoustic guitar line, it feels much more powerful and assured. Rounding out the new songs, “Don’t Look Down” is in the same vain as “Broken Promises”, but with a much more ambient tinge to it. In all, not bad for a guy known for his work behind the drums.

Familial is out August 3oth via Bella Union.

Familial Tracklist:
01. By Some Miracle
02. Beyond Reason
03. A Simple Life
04. All Eyes On You
05. The Ties That Bind Us
06. Patron Saint
07. Falling
08. Broken Promises
09. Don’t Look Down
10. The Witching Hour


Follow Consequence