Check Out: Two tracks from Elton John and Leon Russell’s The Union

Just because we didn’t get the glory of experiencing the ends result of that Lady Gaga/David Bowie collaboration doesn’t mean we can’t enjoy another star-studded collaboration: the recently-reunited Elton John and Leon Russell. And not only does their previously reported The Union album have the fact that it actually exists over that other wondrous musical marriage, but we now actually get to hear a couple tracks from the album (courtesy of Undercover).

The first track, “If It Wasn’t For The Bad”, takes the energy John in particular is known for — that flashy kind of piano magic — and adds to it a shiny spin of country/gospel goodness. Meanwhile, “I Should’ve Sent Roses” is far more bluesy, which works out perfectly as Russell and his Southern drawl make for a perfect union in and of themselves. Of course, being produced by T-Bone Burnett can’t hurt either.

The two legends will bring the album to the Hollywood Palladium on November 3rd. If you’re in that neck of woods, head here for tickets. Enjoy both tracks and the tracklist below. The Union hits stores October 19th via Decca Records.

Union Tracklist:
01. If It Wasn’t For Bad
02. Eight Hundred Dollar Shoes
03. Hey Ahab
04. Gone To Shiloh
05. Jimmie Rodger’s Dream
06. There’s No Tomorrow
07. Monkey Suit
08. The Best Part Of The Day
09. A Dream Come True
10. When Love Is Dying
11. I Should Have Sent Roses
12. Hearts Have Turned To Stone
13. Never To Old (To Hold Somebody)
14. The Hands Of Angels


Follow Consequence