Franz Nicolay adds Luck and Courage to his attributes

Franz Nicolay has certainly kept busy since leaving The Hold Steady, an event that still rings with a slight sense of tragedy. First, he slipped into a comfortable roll with a touring rock band that needed some keys with a dash of personality by joining Against Me! Now, the Nicolay camp is announcing the release of a new Franz Nicolay album, titled Luck and Courage, which will see its release on October 12th on Team Science Records.

Though labeled a solo album, Nicolay received help from a variety of characters that will test your obscure music knowledge. Featured are Brian Viglione (The Dresden Dolls), Yula Be’eri (World/Inferno Friendship Society), Maria Sonevytsky (The Debutante Hour), Mark Spencer (Son Volt), Ben Holmes, Jared Scott (Demander), Ken Thomson (Gutbucket) and Emily Hope Price (Pearl and the Beard). The album  is produced by Jim Keller, who has recorded with artists as varied as Franz Ferdinand and Willie Nelson.

The first single, “This Is Not A Pipe”, which could be referencing the Magritte painting or Foucault’s philosophical text, is available here and sure to help you in your next debate on deconstructionism or semiotics.

Luck and Courage Track List:
1. Felix & Adelita
2. Have Mercy
3. This Is Not A Pipe
4. My Criminal Uncle
5. Z for Zachariah
6. Job 35:10
7. James Ensor Redeemed
8. Anchorage (New Moon Baby)
9. The Last Words of Gene Autry
10. Luck & Courage
11. Rock, Rinse, Repeat (Vinyl-only Bonus Track)


Follow Consequence