Local H prepare most Awesome Mix Tape


Whether you’re a fan of hip-hop, pop, lo-fi, rock, or any one of the other thousand sub-genres we create every day, we’ve all compiled our list of favorite covers. Mine tend to run on the unexpected: The Gourds version of Snoop Dogg’s “Gin and Juice”, Cake taking their turn at the disco classic “I will Survive”, and Local H adding their post-punk vigor to Brit’s “Toxic” in 2005. And since the pop princess’s naughty single helped Local H temporarily recapture some media attention, the Chicago-based guitar/drum tandem have taken it upon themselves to satisfy the nation’s appetite for overhauled tunes.

On October 19th, Local H will release their first-ever collection of covers, Local H’s Awesome Mix Tape #1. For the 7-track EP, the duo have re-imagined singles ranging from Pink Floyd’s 7-minute saga “Time” to TV on The Radio’s 2006 hit “Wolf Like Me”. All seven tracks with original artists are listed below.

Aside from the normal distribution models (CD, digital download), the EP will be on limited edition cassette. Hopefully this mixtape will provide you with a much better time than Rahad’s “Awesome Mixtape” in Boogie Nights.

Local H’s Awesome Mix Tape #1 Tracklist:
01. Wolf Like Me (TV on the Radio)
02. Joey (Concrete Blonde)
03. Puss (The Jesus Lizard)
04. Spiderbite (Winnebago Deal)
05. Blood Stains (Agent Orange)
06. Time (Pink Floyd)
07. For Lovers (Wolfman)