T.I. records six new songs with Kanye for King Uncaged

It was big enough news already when we announced T.I. was hard at work on a new album entitled King Uncaged after serving time for gun charges. And with a new song like “I’m Back”, he already proved that he hasn’t lost his touch. But like the true hustler he is, T.I. wanted something bigger for his follow up to 2008’s Paper Trail. So, he did what a lot of MCs do these days: turn to Kanye West.

In an interview with MTV News, T.I. said he recently returned from Hawaii, where he recorded a total of six songs with everyone’s new favorite Twitter-er (and album delayer). Not only does he have a boost from Ye, but Tip also worked with producers Timbaland and Swizz Beatz. In an interview with MTV News back in July, Swizz said his work with T.I. is not about proving anything to the rap world and instead focusing on “growing as artists” and cementing their role as established acts. Sounds like hip-hop 101 to us.

While there’s no official tracklist for the September release, a list of potential songs on the album is nothing short of mouth-watering. On top of work with Keri Hilson and B.O.B. (on the already released “Got Your Back” and “Dream Me Up” respectively), the King of the South also worked with Lady Gaga on a track called “Lick It”. Oh yeah.

As always, stay tuned for more album details and news as it’s announced. King Uncaged hits stores September 28th via Grand Hustle/Atlantic Records.

King Uncaged Potential Tracklist:
01. Yeah Ya Know (Takers)
02. Got Your Back
03. Dream Me Up
04. Lick It
05. Strip
06. Show Me Your Tears
07. Knock Down, Drag Out
08. Ya Hear Me
09. You Look Up To Me


Follow Consequence