Update: Bob Dylan details Bootleg Series Volume 9, mono recordings set

Just because Bob Dylan is trying to reinvent the concert ticket purchasing concept for the whole Universe doesn’t mean he’s forgotten about his roots. After all, tha’s why he has The Bootleg Series. Like we reported last time, Volume 9 is now nearly ready for its debut, and we can tell you when it’ll be shared — October 19th — and what exactly will be featured.

The two-disc collection consists of tracks recorded between 1962 and 1964, including early versions of “The Times They Are A-Changin’ ” and “Mr. Tambourine Man”. Plus, several songs, including “Guess I’m Doing Fine,” “Long Ago, Far Away”, and “Ballad For a Friend”, were recorded for this particular Bootleg volume, the first since 2008.

And if that weren’t enough vintage Bob Dylan for you, Bob Dylan – The Original Mono Recordings, a mono collection of Dylan’s first eight LPs, hits stores the same day. So much old school goodness we’ll never need another new Dylan album ever again. But don’t let that stop you, Mr. Dylan.

The Bootleg Series Volume 9 – The Witmark Demos and Bob Dylan – The Original Mono Recordings will both be available on October 19th via Columbia Records.

The Bootleg Series Volume 9 – The Witmark Demos Tracklist:
Disc 1:
01. Man On The Street (Fragment)
02. Hard Times In New York Town
03. Poor Boy Blues
04. Ballad For A Friend
05. Rambling, Gambling Willie
06. Talking Bear Mountain Picnic Massacre Blues
07. Standing On The Highway
08. Man On The Street
09. Blowin’ In The Wind
10. Long Ago, Far Away
11. A Hard Rain’s A-Gonna Fall
12. Tomorrow Is A Long Time
13. The Death of Emmett Till
14. Let Me Die In My Footsteps
15. Ballad Of Hollis Brown
16. Quit Your Low Down Ways’
17. Baby, I’m In The Mood For You
18. Bound To Lose, Bound To Win
19. All Over You’
20. I’d Hate To Be You On That Dreadful Day
21. Long Time Gone
22. Talkin’ John Birch Paranoid Blues
23. Masters Of War
24. Oxford Town
25. Farewell

Disc 2:
01. Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right
02. Walkin’ Down The Line
03. I Shall Be Free
04. Bob Dylan’s Blues
05. Bob Dylan’s Dream
06. Boots Of Spanish Leather
07. Walls of Red Wing
08. Girl From The North Country
09. Seven Curses
10. Hero Blues
11. Whatcha Gonna Do?
12. Gypsy Lou
13. Ain’t Gonna Grieve
14. John Brown
15. Only A Hobo
16. When The Ship Comes In
17. The Times They Are A-Changin’
18. Paths Of Victory
19. Guess I’m Doing Fine
20. Baby Let Me Follow You Down
21. Mama, You Been On My Mind
22. Mr. Tambourine Man
23. I’ll Keep It With Mine


Follow Consequence